January Recap

January is behind us and a new page is turned on the calendar. I was hit and miss with some of my goals. I reread my project list for this month last week and realized I had a few things I had planned to do that until the last week of the month I had not gotten done let alone started.

Book Club – I read five books this month. Me Talk Pretty One Day by David Sedaris was the book club goal. I also read another book club title, The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson. Can’t wait to read the next one and see the film! The third book I read was Seven Up by Janet Evanovich (I’m working my way through her series – really want to see One For The Money npw that it is in theaters). I was able to borrow all of these from the library. On my Kindle (library ebooks) I read The Spy by Clive Cussler and Cream Puff Murder by Joanne Fluke.

For February I am reading Rules of Civility by Amore Towles on my Kindle and will be joining in the discussion over at Pancakes and Frenchfries at the end of the month.

Fun fact: Janet Evanovich didn’t start writing until she was 40. Hmmmmm.

Screenplay – Remember I mentioned that I looked at my January list last week? Yeah, had not touched on this one all month. I tried to dedicated some time to it. Its hard when you have a very general idea about what you want to write. Last week I did come up with an idea that I am exploring and have a friend who has written a screenplay who is willing to look it over for me when I have some stuff down on paper. So the log line and outline will have to be goals for February. Unfortunately these things don’t write themselves.

Blog – Not a ton of posting this month, although I started out well. But significantly more than I have been doing in the latter half of 2011. Obviously I am writing about things that interest me. Economical home decor, debt reduction, interesting reads, decluttering. Eventually there will be some travel entries as well.

Alternative Menus – We used the juicer a few times this month. Less than I would have liked. It’s quite the project prepping all the fruit and veggies (that is what I did) and throwing everything in to the juicer in the morning and cleaning it afterwards (that is was C did). I find that for me the juice is hard on my esophagus. I am trying to find out why but I won’t give up just yet!

I bought a cookbook called The Everything Mediterranean Cookbook by Dawn Altomari-Rathjen & Jennifer M. Bendelius. I read it the day I bought it and tried a few recipes. Love it! Wish I had not donated my Quisenart (it was given to me for free). I really regret it. One day I will have to purchase another one.

I have a venti Starbucks glass that I keep on my desk at work. My goal is to drink two of them during the course of the day. I’ve been really good about this one. Still went to get coffee more than I would have liked this month. I can only do better next month.

Get Moving – After getting to a rough start my first week and not doing any active exercise I ended up doing really well. My goal was to work out for twenty minutes after work five days a week. I would do Wii Fit four days a week and break it up by doing Jillian Michaels 30 Day Shred on Wednesday nights. Week one ended up being the week of the 8 – 14. I did great until Friday. I was so tired that I took a three-hour nap. Week two and three were the same – I just got distracted on Fridays. Week four was a bomb as I am little bored with the routine and need to find something to shake things up.

Reduce Debt – I had forgotten until I reread my entry at the beginning of the month that my goal for our credit card debt was to reduce it by half this year. We reduced our credit card debt by 24% but unfortunately I was a bit too aggressive and we had to use some credit we had paid off. It was a banner month due to some work I did for someone in November that I was paid for. The next few months will be leaner but to start off the year like that feels great!

On the budget front, one of my (and C’s) favorite TV shows, Weeds has season 7 coming out at the end of this month on DVD. We don’t have cable so I have to wait until the season comes out. Typically I sit home and watch it in one sitting on a weekend. This show is one of my guilty pleasures! 

Of course, Sunday night February 26th I will be planted on my couch for the 84th annual Oscars. Every year my goal is to see all the nominated films before the show and I never seem to get to that point. We have Midnight in Paris sitting here from Netflix. I will probably watch that this weekend.

Clutter – Another project I forgot about until I read my entry was going through the dresser in my dining room I use as a buffet. This task was ignored and will have to be done in February. I need to consolidate my craft items and store them using less space. This will allow me to move our printer / scanner / copier down below (after cutting out a notch in the back for the cord) so the top of the dresser could be styled a little better. This way I can more fully utilize as a buffet when I want to.

Condo – Last summer I had cut out and pinned together a slip cover for my couch. It’s been sitting in a pile of fabric and pins since then. I drug it out last week and it’s still sitting in a pile but closely located to my dining table so I can pull out my sewing machine and get that project completed – also for February.

We did pretty well at the beginning of January taking the old tile off the hearth. We have about 3/4 of it to go. I hope to get all the tile off this month. I am also budgeting to buy the rest of the new tile we need for the project this month.

Vacation / EventsSteampunk Ball was this month and I made a new outfit for it. A long Indian style top and pants in the style of lounging pyjamas.

We don’t have much in the way of plans and events this month. Of course there is Valentine’s day in a few weeks. I want to make dinner at home and possibly go out for dessert.

Sorry there are no photos but there are TONS of links (got a little link happy). Here’s to a goal filled (and completed) February!

1 Comment

Filed under goals, Uncategorized

One response to “January Recap

  1. My goal is to read more blogs this year and I’m so glad I stopped by yours. I have a screenplay “in the works” – I say that loosely, and have read a couple of those books you read. Now, I just have to drink more water and exercise.
    A writer’s group just formed in my neighbourhood and someone gave me the tip to write out the main scenes of my screenplay on recipe cards and post them on a wall rearranging, adding, and deleting as I go along – then using that as the framework for writing the dialogue. I’m really excited to try this.
    Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

