Vintage Holiday Gift Tags

Every year I come up with a new theme for wrapping my holiday gifts. This year is no exception. For the past few years I have resorted to plain brown craft paper and hemp twine. A sample of last years gifts is below. I think the actual wrapping was left over paper from a move. You know, the kind that they wrap your breakables in? The little tag with the burlap and crystal I also have on my tree as ornaments. I like the old fashioned parcel feel for wrapping. Conveniently it goes with my Christmas color pallete of burlap, cream, brown & grey.

I am in love with old fashioned luggage tags. A couple years ago I picked up a couple tins of reproduction tags. I scanned them in to my computer, printed them out and ran them through my Xyron machine to make them in to stickers. This year I applied them to card stock and made them in to gift tags. The perfect compliment to my packaging that won’t make me go postal.

I love the colors used in the tags. They give the perfect vintage feel to my holiday gifts. The great part is I still have the original stickers & scans so I can use them over and over again. The other thing I love is they are so versatile. They could be used for any type of gift throughout the year (sorry for the photo quality – used my camera phone as my digital died – Santa are you listening?).

This tag below is for my brother-in-law. Sorry M, the girl doesn’t come with the gift.

My niece and nephew each get an ornament as part of their gift tag. Who can resist the sock monkey?

Something I read in a magazine a few years ago stuck in my head. Stock up on rolls of paper and ribbon in your signature color and you will always have something to wrap a gift in. Conveniently, rolls of brown craft paper and hemp twine are easy to store away, available year round and not very expensive. What sort of gift tags and wrapping do you use?

1 Comment

Filed under crafts, Holiday's

One response to “Vintage Holiday Gift Tags

  1. It’s a nice blog you have over here! It’s very usefull information for me and I just want to thank you for that! If you post more threads as this one, I’ll follow your blog active!

Leave a Reply

