>Pumpkins & Feathers

>Reposting this today to link up with the CSI project.

Visit thecsiproject.com

**********

Over the weekend we got our dining table sanded and painted with a few coats of glossy black paint. Once I get the final coats on I will show you how it turned out. I am loving it!

In my travels to Micahels for craft supplies for my black and white pumpkins, I spied this great wreath with peacock feathers. Peacock blue is one of my accent colors. I even had a 50% off coupon and I love it against my grey walls. It’s hanging over the bar.

I did one more black and white pumpkin in preparation for Halloween. A small white pumpkin with a black fleur di lis.

Here is my black and white pumpkin trio sitting on the sideboard. The first two listed below were inspired by a magazine. All of the craft (fake) pumpkins were orange to begin with and I simply added about three coats of white craft paint and the stems got a coat of my grey wall color.
  • Off With Your Head – Black velvet ribbon held in place with pearl topped push pins. The lettering are glitter stickers.
  • Paisley – Most of the design is puffy paint as I could just not afford little sticky crystals to do the entire design. Grey and black sticky crystals do add a little sparkle though.
  • Fleur di Lis – I just took black craft paint on a Fleur di Lis stamp and stamped it on and then filled in with paint. I think this might need a little bling and I have some sticky crystals left over to may place a few on here.
I would like to add some color in the form of ribbon on the stems. We shall see…

I also bought a bolt of burlap at the fabric store. Several projects to come from that. Today after work I plan to hunt for some twigs to put it in a vase on my bar. I have a few clip on ravens and some sparkly bits I want to tuck in to them.
How are you preparing your house for the fall?
16 Comments

Filed under decorating, halloween, link party

16 responses to “>Pumpkins & Feathers

  1. >cool pumpkins and love the wreath!

  2. >Love the use of puffy paint – clever workaround!

  3. >Great pumpkins! I love a "black & white" themed Halloween. Very classy.Popping in from the CSI Project.

  4. >Love these pumpkins! (Especially, "Off with your head") I've been all over the black and white Halloween decorations this year! It's too bad our house is black and white, otherwise I would have given this more consideration for outdoor decor!

  5. >Thanks for all your comments – wanted to let you know the feather wreath was purchased. 🙂

  6. >I love the paisley one! So pretty! I love that you attached ribbon with push pins too…so clever!

  7. Tia

    >So very super cute, I love the white pumpkins!!

  8. >I love love LOVE these pumpkins(notlamecrocet.blogspot)

  9. >Your pumpkins are beautiful!! I love the black and white together – the glitter is so cute. Great job!!

  10. >The pumpkins are awesome, I just love black and white!

  11. >these are amazing! I love them!

  12. >I love the one with puffy paint, great idea!

  13. >I love your white and black pumpkins! They look terrific!

  14. >I love the pumpkins!! So cute! Can't wait to see how the table turned out. = )

  15. >gorgeous pumpkins! I love that curly cue one!

  16. >SO stinkin' cute! Great job!

Leave a Reply

